Saturday, September 20, 2008

Seven and Half Churches (Ezharappallikal)

St Thomas the Apostle, after landing at Kodungallur in AD 52, established seven and half churches or Christian communities. These churches are known as Seven and Half Churches or Ezharappallikal.

The seven churches are located in different parts of Kerala. The church established at Thiruvithamkode (Thiruvamkode) in Kanyakumari district of Tamilnadu is accorded the status of a half church.

Currently, there is some basic information about these seven-and-half churches below:


The Seven churches: Maliankara, Palayoor, Kottakavu, Kokkamangalam, Niranam, Kollam, Chayal

The half church: Thiruvithamkode

  • Maliankara

    Maliankara (Kodungallur - Azhikode), 40 km from Trichur: Diocese of Irinjalakuda

  • Palayoor

    Palayoor (Near Chavakkadu & Guruvayoor), 28 km from Trichur: (Arch) Diocese of Trichur

  • Kottakavu

    Kottakavu (North Paravur): (Arch) Diocese of Ernakulam - Angamaly

  • Kokkamangalam

    Kokkamangalam (Alappuzha Dt, 5 km from Cherthala) St Thomas Church:
    (Arch) Diocese of Ernakulam - Angamaly

  • Niranam

    Niranam, Nr Thiruvalla: St. Mary’s Orthodox Syrian Church, Niranam (Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church)

  • Kollam

    Kollam: Diocese of Kollam

  • Chayal (Nilackal)

    Chayal (Nilackal), Nr Sabarimala, Pathanamthitta Dt: Ecumenical Church, Kerala

  • Thiruvithamkode

    Thiruvithamkode, Kanyakumari Dt, Tamilnadu (Half church): Orthodox Syrian Church, Tamilnadu


Jerry George said...

Thanks for your information

Jerry George said...

Thanks for the info

Jacob Oommen said...

Hi Justin,
Thank you for the information
Mapped these churches in googlemaps
Leggie Jacob Oommen